Discussion of migration from legacy 5.9 to SE 6.x

SE to support Server set-ups?

SE to support Server set-ups?

Postby t120rmike » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:54 pm

I've searched everything I can find. Last year it was mentioned that the 6.5 update will support a server set up, but i haven't been able to find anything else about it. Is it supported yet.

One reason we have hesitated to switch to the peer to peer set up is basic security. All the writers have their own desks and their own pencils and their own highliters, but once we go peer to peer, then anyone can log into anyone's computer and open any of their files. I'm not a fan of that idea. (cue porn jokes)

Thanks,
Mike Accursi
General Manager
Fox Run Automotive
Mike Accursi
General Manager
Fox Run Automotive
t120rmike
Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:45 am
Location: Delaware

Re: SE to support Server set-ups?

Postby timbre4 » Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:13 pm

With Manager SE 6.5, we are supporting Server 2012 as long as it is NOT a domain controller.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4535
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: SE to support Server set-ups?

Postby kentiler » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:51 pm

But a Server 2012 on a domain as long as it's not a domain controller?

--Kent
kentiler
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:31 pm

Re: SE to support Server set-ups?

Postby Silky7 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:30 pm

Active Directory/Domain environments are not supported. http://mitchell1.com/knowledgebase/article.php?id=537

The simplest explanation we can offer as to why is that we learned over many years of support calls — the overwhelming majority of problems with application behaviour in AD was due to permission/security restrictions. Some of our applications require administrator-level privileges. Much of that is due to the way our application licensing works.

It should also be noted that many of our users choose to use domains anyway. Some of them are regulars on this forum :wink: , and it might be useful for trading troubleshooting advice should you need it. However, do not expect to be able to call for support. If you choose the environment, you're choosing the restrictions that come with it as well.
User avatar
Silky7
2nd Level Tech Support
2nd Level Tech Support
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:07 am

Return to Upgrade Process

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest