Manager SE specific technical issues

Open ROs Switching Customers?

Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby GUTHTIRE » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:51 pm

We've recently noticed, and it's been very intermittent, an open RO switching to another Customer. I have yet to pinpoint exact steps but an RO is open for a given customer with jobs, labor and parts lines assigned. Throughout the day we've noticed the RO being assigned to another customer altogether. The jobs, labor and parts lines are intact however the RO is assigned to another customer that has an open RO. To our knowledge it has never switched to a random customer just a customer with an existing open RO. Very weird. We don't recall this happening prior to the 7.1.6 upgrade. This has happened about a 1/2 dozen times at most. Has anyone else experienced this?

Note: the cleanest steps to switch it back have been to cut all the lines out of the now "bad" RO, delete the "bad" RO, open a new RO under the correct/original customer and paste the lines. There may be an easier way that we have yet to find.
Dan
GUTHTIRE
100 Club: Active Contributor
100 Club: Active Contributor
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:19 am
Location: Glenmoore, PA

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby ricmorin » Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:10 pm

Yes, Dan. It has been documented as a glitch in this pre-release. I understand work is already underway to fix before mass release.

From what I know, it's an interaction between the Scheduler and an open RO. Altering times in the Scheduler on an item while an RO is open, the altered item inherits the open RO's customer.
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5272
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby timbre4 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:33 am

We apologize for this inconvenience. Correct, this was verified last week and a patch is being prepared now. Distribution was halted; the patch will be applied to the release which will resume as SE 7.1.7.

Workaround: Go to WIP screen before opening appointment to avoid the interaction described above.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4514
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby GUTHTIRE » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:54 am

Thanks, I wasn't 100% sure whether we encountered this before the latest release or not.
Dan
GUTHTIRE
100 Club: Active Contributor
100 Club: Active Contributor
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:19 am
Location: Glenmoore, PA

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby John C. » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:04 am

HA!!! Happened again this morning, at first I was blaming the guys, then I thought I was the culprit... :shock:
John C.
User avatar
John C.
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 703
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:24 am
Location: Massatwoschits

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby Jimmy@DGB » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:51 am

This has been happening to us in 7.0.11. I've called tech support about it a couple of times but they could not really pinpoint any issue.
Jimmy@DGB
25 Club: Starting Contributor
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:17 am

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby Jimmy@DGB » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:08 am

We have updated to 7.1.7.6 and are still having this issue. It is replacing one customer's info and with another. PLEASE HELP. Tech support has no clue. The only cause they can come up with is that the service writer is replacing the information manually, and this is NOT happening. My writers know better and are too lazy to sit there and do that :lol: We currently have 2 RO's open that this has happened with if anyone in Mitchell tech support land can help with.
Jimmy@DGB
25 Club: Starting Contributor
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:17 am

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby Silky7 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 7:34 am

Jimmy,

Sorry to say, but the reality is we won't be able to track it down unless the SA's can help identify what steps they were performing when the switch occurred. The previously identified issue was definitely fixed in 7.1.7, so there's a chance you have a completely different flow that is causing a switch. :|
User avatar
Silky7
2nd Level Tech Support
2nd Level Tech Support
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:07 am

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby Jimmy@DGB » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:42 am

I completely understand. No one ever seems to know or can remember doing anything unusual.
Jimmy@DGB
25 Club: Starting Contributor
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:17 am

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby Silky7 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:54 am

That's important to let them know as well — it may not be anything unusual in the workflow. They may want to pay special attention to their normal flows and a pattern can emerge. Ric's SA (Hi Wanda if you're lurking. :D ) was instrumental in tracking down the original issue in this thread, and even then it was a couple of weeks before enough of a pattern was identified.
User avatar
Silky7
2nd Level Tech Support
2nd Level Tech Support
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:07 am

Re: Open ROs Switching Customers?

Postby brianp87 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:15 am

Jimmy@DGB wrote:I completely understand. No one ever seems to know or can remember doing anything unusual.


That's what is tough. What is normal to you may be different to me and what is normal to me is different to others.
User avatar
brianp87
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor
 
Posts: 2982
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Arizona

Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest