Manager SE Settings, Defaults, Database

Headless Server

Headless Server

Postby a&mauto » Thu Aug 25, 2016 9:40 am

No, this isnt a political post. My son is an IT person for a major corporation. He has skills. He insists that I should have a "Headless Server". He is willing to build one for my shop and make it work. Im sure I will have other questions later. Will a server like this use up one of our licenses? I was planning on having 5 workstations running off of the Headless server.
Adam Jadovitz
A & M Automotive
Lake Elsinore, CA
951-245-1562
http://www.aandmautorepair.com
User avatar
a&mauto
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:11 pm
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA

Re: Headless Server

Postby Silky7 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:19 am

Adam,

This isn't a good idea. Some updates and installation need to occur first on the host, or in some cases exclusively on the host. Without any regular visibility to the server, you can end up with needless confusion. However, if he wants to build you a dedicated server, that isn't a bad idea. The host will not take a license as long as the workstation component is not activated on it.
User avatar
Silky7
2nd Level Tech Support
2nd Level Tech Support
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:07 am

Return to Database / Settings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests