Inventory parts, inventory and ordering

Ordering Stocking Parts

Ordering Stocking Parts

Postby motley06 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:48 pm

So maybe I'm using the software wrong. Say I have an oil change coming in and I keep 1 oil filter on my shelf for that car. How are most of you ordering the filter to replace the one your about to use? Are you waiting to close out the ticket, then ordering through 'restock from inventory'? Are you clicking 'show all parts' instead of 'show parts needed to complete order' then ordering that way?

I kinda wish the program would recognize that the current order has my 1 filter committed to it and default to ordering a 'replacement' filter to maintain proper stocking levels... Or maybe it does and I'm just using the software wrong.
motley06
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Ordering stocking parts

Postby ricmorin » Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:23 am

I may be able to shed some light on this.....

The program does recognize committed parts. Here's the logic: At the Estimate stage, parts are not committed. You can write estimates all day long for a variety of reasons, so any parts on those estimates are ignored. Once the Estimate is converted into an RO, then any parts are considered committed. The logic is this occurs (Estimate to RO) when the vehicle arrives) They will show up in a reorder 'restock from inventory' report. At the Invoice stage, parts are confirmed and actually deducted from inventory. That's the basic program behavior.

In my shop, I replenish inventory using the Restock from Inventory button. I like to keep my stocking levels low, so I do this every day before work starts in the shop. I include a low inventory report in my End of Day print-out so it's ready for me in the morning. I do a physical check with the report, then I make my orders with the appropriate vendors.

Some shops do this weekly, so you'd need to adjust your minimum levels as to not run out. You can glean your needed levels easily by opening the part record and checking the sales graph by clicking on the Sales button. The resulting graph gives you an idea of how many of that item you sell in a month. Now you can adjust accordingly.

You can use 'Show All Parts' as well, but I prefer to maintain a physical count incrementally rather than dedicate hours at a time to that task. Call it personal preference; 5 minutes a day. :D
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Ordering stocking parts

Postby motley06 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:41 pm

Thanks for the response. Your way is kind of how I thought I was gonna have to handle this. Personally, I really think the program should recognize that you have 1 filter in stock and the current RO is going to require that 1 filter and prompt you to order the replacement (at least if it is a stocking part and has proper stocking levels set). That, or I'll just have to tell my new SA that anytime he sells an air or cabin filter, make sure to remember to order a replacement.

Bummer we'll have to manually do this, but is what it is. I'd love to hear how other shops are handling it, if they are doing something different.
motley06
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Ordering stocking parts

Postby ricmorin » Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:27 pm

motley06 wrote:Thanks for the response. Your way is kind of how I thought I was gonna have to handle this. Personally, I really think the program should recognize that you have 1 filter in stock and the current RO is going to require that 1 filter and prompt you to order the replacement (at least if it is a stocking part and has proper stocking levels set). That, or I'll just have to tell my new SA that anytime he sells an air or cabin filter, make sure to remember to order a replacement.

Bummer we'll have to manually do this, but is what it is. I'd love to hear how other shops are handling it, if they are doing something different.

Think about that for a minute. EVERY time you commit a part you want the program to prompt you to reorder that part if it falls below your stocking level? That would be maddening if you ask me, not to mention annoying for the supplier coming out with one or two widgets each time. I'd be getting 20 prompts or more a day. Plus it doesn't allow for a stock count check. There are some things that we just have to do ourselves, despite all this automation. The program can easily gather the information you need. Once you have a rhythm, it goes very smoothly. Just decide which frequency best suits your operation.
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Ordering Stocking Parts

Postby motley06 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:52 am

ricmorin wrote:Think about that for a minute. EVERY time you commit a part you want the program to prompt you to reorder that part if it falls below your stocking level? That would be maddening if you ask me, not to mention annoying for the supplier coming out with one or two widgets each time. I'd be getting 20 prompts or more a day. Plus it doesn't allow for a stock count check. There are some things that we just have to do ourselves, despite all this automation. The program can easily gather the information you need. Once you have a rhythm, it goes very smoothly. Just decide which frequency best suits your operation.


I wouldn't necessarily want it to prompt us, but to load the part in the 'parts ordering' screen. Essentially, if I stock one filter and we are selling that 1 filter, I'd like it to prompt it to order one, so the stocking level is maintained.

Haha, and yes, we do get a lot of deliveries a day. Never thought about if this bothered my supplier or not. Then again, I don't really care. I'm buying from them and they offer free delivery.

Instead of me doing a stock check every morning, it'd be nice if Mitchell did at the time of sale and prompted to order a replacement. There have been days where we have sold 3 of the same filter, then go months without selling another one...
motley06
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:24 am

Re: Ordering Stocking Parts

Postby ricmorin » Tue Apr 11, 2017 8:09 am

I see your logic. Perhaps a way to load an order 'on the fly' so it's ready? Kinda neat.

I try not to make my vendor come out for something small. I'll make the PO, tag the part as 'back ordered' so it turns red in the window. No everyone knows to push that 'red' order through when placing another.

There was talk about inventory quantity warning components being thought about. This might be part of that though process.
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Ordering Stocking Parts

Postby motley06 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:44 am

ricmorin wrote:There was talk about inventory quantity warning components being thought about. This might be part of that though process.


That would be useful, too. Really, this whole thing started when I hired my first service advisor recently. He doesn't really know what we stock and don't stock. So unless the part shows up in the parts ordering screen, he doesn't know that we will now be out of part number X. I realize I could do just exactly like what you said earlier, check inventory every morning/week/etc. I was just trying to avoid adding another process to my job. Really, the whole idea behind hiring a SA was to relieve me of some duties. I guess I could have him start doing an inventory check every morning, I'd just like to keep him on the front counter selling and making calls. Either way, we'll work around it. Thanks for the input Ric.

BTW, I posted another topic about handling loan car expenses through Mitchell. Would appreciate your input on that subject as well
motley06
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:24 am

Return to Inventory / Purchase Orders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest