Mobile Manager Pro (tablets)

Part Number Handling

Part Number Handling

Postby ricmorin » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:54 am

Based on my experience it would appear the Mobile Manager cannot handle multiple instances of the same part number. In Manager, when such a condition exists, you get a window to choose from. In MM all you get is the first instance. Is this a known condition and will it be addressed in the future?
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5288
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby Auto Repair Coach » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:06 am

I'm not sure I am understanding you.
Are you saying that if I put part A1 into MM it will not let me put A1 in again?

If you have multiple A1s, quantity is being used like 5 A1s?

Sorry. Just want to know exactly what I need to know.
John Burkhauser
Director of Educational Programs

BOLT ON TECHNOLOGY

610-400-1019
http://boltontechnology.com/
User avatar
Auto Repair Coach
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:21 am
Location: Southampton Pa.

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby ricmorin » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:48 am

I have part number 7440 in my system 4 times. They all have different line codes. When I add this part using Manager, I am asked by dialog window which one I want. When I add this part using MM, I get the first part in line without reference to the other three.

7440.png
 
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5288
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby Auto Repair Coach » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:02 am

Ric,
Thanks for that, I now understand.
But why enter the same part number four times to represent four different parts? That seems to be were the issue starts.
My method would be to add another digit to the number. Looking at your example BELT would be G7440, lamp - W7440.....[Second thought BELT would be B7440, lamp L7440]

Approximately how many duplicate part numbers do you have?

Seeing that the Mitchell screen, that you pictured, pops up asking about the a duplicate part number, I figure that their may be a common issue with this.
I'll in put it with the cursor request too.

Because of the extra window, I think that this will require some reasonable programming. I don't know.
Thanks again for the input.
John Burkhauser
Director of Educational Programs

BOLT ON TECHNOLOGY

610-400-1019
http://boltontechnology.com/
User avatar
Auto Repair Coach
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:21 am
Location: Southampton Pa.

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby ricmorin » Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:48 am

John,

These parts represent 4 different items. In order to get these from their respective vendors electronically the part numbers must be exact, as does the line code. Changing the part number is not an option. Mobile Manager should be able to handle this like Manager SE does.

When dealing with 15 electronic vendors, there are going to be duplicates. This is a fact of business in this day and age. How our software handles this condition defines the top players. I've always considered Bolt On as a top player.

Thank you for the consideration.
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5288
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby Auto Repair Coach » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:53 am

Ric,
When I see the whole story it makes sense. I'll put it in the suggestion box as I have your other requests and wait for programming to see what they can do.

Thanks
John Burkhauser
Director of Educational Programs

BOLT ON TECHNOLOGY

610-400-1019
http://boltontechnology.com/
User avatar
Auto Repair Coach
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:21 am
Location: Southampton Pa.

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby ricmorin » Fri Jul 14, 2017 6:40 am

Thanks. I'll try to be clearer in the future.

BTW, the most recent update is awesome. Great job.
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5288
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Part Number Handling

Postby Auto Repair Coach » Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:46 am

Thanks.
Sometimes can be a bit dense.
John Burkhauser
Director of Educational Programs

BOLT ON TECHNOLOGY

610-400-1019
http://boltontechnology.com/
User avatar
Auto Repair Coach
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:21 am
Location: Southampton Pa.

Return to Mobile Manager

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest