VIN Decode Qualifiers

VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:37 pm

When doing a VIN decode, I often get a screen with choices. Sometimes the choices are something visual, or a trim level. Other times the choice is actually in the VIN, but yet the decoder can't figure it out. Here is a sample.....

vinchoice.png
 


In this example, the choice is EM2 or ES2. These are digits of the VIN. Why am I being asked when the digits are there? Is it unreasonable to expect the decoder to decode? :D
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby timbre4 » Mon Mar 14, 2016 1:44 pm

Kicking it upstairs for response. :idea:
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Tue Mar 15, 2016 4:05 am

Thanks. My guess is that there is some algorithm that prevents this from happening, or some government policy that restricts the process, but I felt it was worth asking.....
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby timbre4 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:19 pm

Mystery solved (if you can follow this): :shock:
Attachments
polk.png
 
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:49 pm

Wow. I've seen this kind of thing before and never bothered to comment or mention. What is the proper channel for advising in the future?
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby timbre4 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:57 pm

Right here for now. :)
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby Cathy Kulp » Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:47 am

Also in the transmission in the vin #
User avatar
Cathy Kulp
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 8:48 am
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby timbre4 » Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:55 am

Cathy Kulp wrote:Also in the transmission in the vin #


Transmission is typically not part of the VIN. That attribute is usually on a sticker or plate, door jamb, glovebox or under hood, etc.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Fri Apr 01, 2016 4:14 am

Here is another one. Ironic it's another Honda.....

vinchoice2.png
 
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby timbre4 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 5:44 am

I've forwarded that to the VIN guru, sensing a pattern.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Fri Apr 01, 2016 5:55 am

Pattern you say? Yup. Here's another Honda....

vinchoice3.png
 
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby Gary R » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:18 am

I was following this up to Ric's last post, which on the left side of the screen indicates the vehicle is a Cadillac, and on the right side of the screen shows it as a Honda. (Sorry I don't know how to copy and paste his screen shots)
Gary Radtke
Service Manager
Clavey Auto Service
http://www.claveyauto.com
User avatar
Gary R
100 Club: Active Contributor
100 Club: Active Contributor
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:57 pm
Location: Glenview, Illinois

Re: VIN Decode Qualifiers

Postby ricmorin » Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:04 am

Gary R wrote:I was following this up to Ric's last post, which on the left side of the screen indicates the vehicle is a Cadillac, and on the right side of the screen shows it as a Honda. (Sorry I don't know how to copy and paste his screen shots)

You can disregard that part. It has nothing to do with this thread.

To explain, for my VIN scanner to work properly, there needs to be some kind of info in the year and make fields. My SA forgot to do that so I just put in false data so something would be there. When those fields are blank and I try to scan a VIN, it just comes out blank. :D
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5059
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Return to VIN Decode

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest