Aftermarket + OEM Catalogs

FirstCall Shutting Down Manager?

FirstCall Shutting Down Manager?

Postby liljoe » Wed Mar 23, 2016 6:21 am

When I use the first call online button (new), I can select the part group, then the sub group. When I go to select the actual part, about 1 out of three times, I will get an error message saying shopstream extension has encountered a problem and needs to close. Then it will completely shut down manager and I will have to reopen it and start back over. This has been going on for a couple weeks or so, but is happening more often now. Called my O-R rep and he called his people and they advised him it is a Mitchell problem. Is anyone else having this problem or know of a solution for it?
Thanks for any help on this issue.
Liljoe
Working hard to prove the Green Team can do it with the best of 'em.
User avatar
liljoe
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Mentally: outer space. Physically: Alabama

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby motley06 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:05 am

Yes, I was just getting ready to make a post about this. Has been happening since Monday, I got the 7.0.6 and 7.0.7 updates during that time I believe...
motley06
200 Club: Major Contributor
200 Club: Major Contributor
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 11:24 am

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby Silky7 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:00 am

We are investigating this issue and hope to have some news for you soon. Thanks again for reporting it!
User avatar
Silky7
2nd Level Tech Support
2nd Level Tech Support
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:07 am

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby nickscarcare » Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:21 am

I thought it was just another one of those problems only I had. Glad to hear others are having the same issues. We also have 7.0.7
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby liljoe » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:55 pm

Just for references, I am on 6.6.10. Support remoted into my system and I was able to duplicate the issue, they are working on finding the cause, then they can create a solution.....
Working hard to prove the Green Team can do it with the best of 'em.
User avatar
liljoe
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Mentally: outer space. Physically: Alabama

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby Johnny5 » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:59 pm

liljoe wrote:When I use the first call online button (new), I can select the part group, then the sub group. When I go to select the actual part, about 1 out of three times, I will get an error message saying shopstream extension has encountered a problem and needs to close. Then it will completely shut down manager and I will have to reopen it and start back over. This has been going on for a couple weeks or so, but is happening more often now. Called my O-R rep and he called his people and they advised him it is a Mitchell problem. Is anyone else having this problem or know of a solution for it?
Thanks for any help on this issue.
Liljoe


We are attempting to learn where the problem lies and fix it, we are investigating the O'Reilly catalog code and our own Manager SE code.
John Dwulet AKA: Johnny5
Sr. Product Marketing Manager - Mitchell1
Tuck in behind me, I'll show you where to crash. 8)
User avatar
Johnny5
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: Mitchell 1 John Dwulet, Sr. Product Marketing Manager

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby nickscarcare » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:32 pm

They will find it! Keep us posted. Thank you guys!
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby ricmorin » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:03 am

Starting to see this here as well. 7.0.7
Ric Morin - Volunteer Forum Moderator, Shop Owner, ASE Master L1
Motorcar Alternatives, LLC
603-622-6434
https://www.facebook.com/motorcaralternatives

Reality continues to ruin my life.- Calvin
User avatar
ricmorin
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
5K Holy Smokes Contributor
 
Posts: 5263
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 10:11 am
Location: New Hampshire

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby nickscarcare » Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:38 am

Now it come up with "An error was detected from the catalog. An error occured while transfering cart contents to the main application." We had to exit the program and restart to finally get it to work.
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby Sauvageaus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:00 am

nickscarcare wrote:Now it come up with "An error was detected from the catalog. An error occured while transfering cart contents to the main application." We had to exit the program and restart to finally get it to work.


I've noticed that as well
Sauvageaus
300 Club: Superstar Contributor
300 Club: Superstar Contributor
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:27 am

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby timbre4 » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:31 am

Working here on SE 7.0.7 without issue; if Manager SE hasn't been restarted in a while, it may cure this.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby Sauvageaus » Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:46 am

timbre4 wrote:Working here on SE 7.0.7 without issue; if Manager SE hasn't been restarted in a while, it may cure this.


I exit out and back it up every night and then restart in the morning and sometimes another time or 2 throughout the day, but at least once a day.
Sauvageaus
300 Club: Superstar Contributor
300 Club: Superstar Contributor
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 8:27 am

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby liljoe » Mon Mar 28, 2016 11:34 am

Sauvageaus wrote:
timbre4 wrote:Working here on SE 7.0.7 without issue; if Manager SE hasn't been restarted in a while, it may cure this.


I exit out and back it up every night and then restart in the morning and sometimes another time or 2 throughout the day, but at least once a day.

Same here as well. Also, when it happens, it will make you close and restart the program. Have had it happen twice in a row with out a successful catalog look up today. Then on the third try ( after restarting the program twice ) I was able to look up parts. Gets kinda frustrating looking up things in the O-R catalog. Others seem to work fine for me, they are both the activant type interface and not like the first call link....
Working hard to prove the Green Team can do it with the best of 'em.
User avatar
liljoe
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Mentally: outer space. Physically: Alabama

Re: FirstCall Shutting Down Manager?

Postby timbre4 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:08 pm

Help is on the way - stay tuned
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby nickscarcare » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:13 am

Any update on the fix for this, had it 4 times this morning shut down.
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby timbre4 » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:53 am

We are continuing to work with O'Reilly's to help them fix the issue(s) with their FirstCall catalog. When we have something further, we'll let you know.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4595
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby nickscarcare » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:21 am

Ok just checking, I know they tried something with my system already, but it did not fix it.
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby liljoe » Mon Apr 11, 2016 2:06 pm

nickscarcare wrote:Ok just checking, I know they tried something with my system already, but it did not fix it.


If you contact OR tech support they can, regardless of what you might have told locally, reset your old first call button ( activant type interface ) and you can use it till the issues are completely resolved. My system has done fine since they had me run a patch, till this morning. Had an issue twice today, but nothing like what it was before. It was happening about one out of three times. Support remoted into my system again today and got some log files and such to study in the search for a cause and then solution for this.

My local rep from OR had told me that we could not go back to the old interface due to the system not being updated anymore with pricing and inventory ( this info was given to him by his district guy ) but I have checked the old with the new and both show same pricing. OR support guy said the old interface WILL NOT be disbanded until such a time as all issues with the new one are fully resolved. I was informed that the reason the problem is only with the new interface is due to the heavy amount of data and security involved in the new one. It is set up to be able to pay your bill from there, so they had to use stronger encryption and such. Hope this helps clear this up a bit for everyone.
Working hard to prove the Green Team can do it with the best of 'em.
User avatar
liljoe
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor
 
Posts: 1565
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:27 am
Location: Mentally: outer space. Physically: Alabama

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby madmoneymike5 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:01 pm

Not to harp, but any updates/changes on this issue?
(Using Version 7.0.11 as of June 2016)
madmoneymike5
50 Club: Regular Contributor
50 Club: Regular Contributor
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:17 pm

Re: First call shutting down mitchell

Postby D J » Mon Apr 18, 2016 2:40 pm

Yes, We've been having this issue as well. I'll keep checking back here for updates...

D J Sebens
Marlin's Auto Service
Lynden, WA.
User avatar
D J
Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 12:12 pm
Location: Lynden, Washington
Next

Return to Part Catalogs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest