Aftermarket + OEM Catalogs

Repairlink Not Working Properly

Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby jace241 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:58 am

The new version of repairlink is awful. On GM vehicles it used to load all the vehicle attributes and narrow things down. Now its just showing me every possibility for every engine. Plus it has stopped recognizing some vehicles. The latest today is an 08 Caddy, VIN and everything entered correctly. Decoded etc. Every category you pick loads up tons of parts you have to wade through to get to diagrams. I will click on parts in the diagrams it says no part found. But if I find the part number somewhere else it shows the part, price and quantity. Click on show diagrams and it takes me to the same diagram I was on where I click on part and says no part available.
jace241
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:05 am

Re: Repairlink

Postby Rich » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:41 am

or you go to look up engine parts and in the thumb nails to look at it has transmissions and bumpers and doors......drives me nuts.

I also notice when you do bring up a photo it appears to list every part to the right......
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby timbre4 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:33 am

Sorry to hear of the difficulties, I have sent an inquiry to them. Stay tuned
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4519
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby BenjaminPeterson » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:57 am

Nice choices of options makes it so much easier to pick out what options the vehicle has. Sad part this isn't even the worse one had a impala that had 9 different options all the same wording. 10 steps back on this update.
Attachments
justwow.png
 
BenjaminPeterson
25 Club: Starting Contributor
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:03 am

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby timbre4 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:06 am

I have also shared this message with our OE Connection contacts; you may get an email from them.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4519
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby nickscarcare » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:35 pm

We have been noticing the issues as well, I didn't know to bring it up here, we have been just calling the dealer. PITA because some of those people don't have a clue as to what parts are.
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby rhillig » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:03 pm

+1 on this.

jace241 wrote:The new version of repairlink is awful. On GM vehicles it used to load all the vehicle attributes and narrow things down. Now its just showing me every possibility for every engine. Plus it has stopped recognizing some vehicles. The latest today is an 08 Caddy, VIN and everything entered correctly. Decoded etc. Every category you pick loads up tons of parts you have to wade through to get to diagrams. I will click on parts in the diagrams it says no part found. But if I find the part number somewhere else it shows the part, price and quantity. Click on show diagrams and it takes me to the same diagram I was on where I click on part and says no part available.
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain
User avatar
rhillig
400 Club: Mega-Star Contributor
400 Club: Mega-Star Contributor
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:20 am

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Rich » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:50 am

I find myself saying...."if this was M1 we at least have a forum so we could have a voice".
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Johnny5 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:09 pm

I send OEC a recap of this thread. Below is there response:

Hi John,
Thank you so much for sending me this, I have forwarded it onto our team for review. We do appreciate your feedback and please feel free to send me any additional items you find. With the release of this enhancement we are wanting to hear as much as possible from our users to ensure we make the appropriate adjustments going forward.
Again thank you and if there’s anything you may need please let me know.
Thanks,
Kate

Kate Kisicki
OEC | Product Specialist, Mechanical
John Dwulet AKA: Johnny5
Sr. Product Marketing Manager - Mitchell1
Tuck in behind me, I'll show you where to crash. 8)
User avatar
Johnny5
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 664
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: Mitchell 1 John Dwulet, Sr. Product Marketing Manager

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Rich » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:55 pm

How many screen shots you want??
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby sbebenelli » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:16 pm

It is a terrible update. I cannot understand how a company thinks they make things better when it is so much worst.
sbebenelli
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:24 am
Location: Iowa

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Johnny5 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:30 pm

Yes, if you guys have some screen shots of changed/broken functionality, I will be glad to forward it on.

JD
John Dwulet AKA: Johnny5
Sr. Product Marketing Manager - Mitchell1
Tuck in behind me, I'll show you where to crash. 8)
User avatar
Johnny5
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 664
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 2:03 pm
Location: Mitchell 1 John Dwulet, Sr. Product Marketing Manager

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Rich » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:40 am

On the right is the photo, ZERO item selected. On the right it shows all on the parts. Use to not show anything on the right until you selected a part on the left.
Attachments
RL1.png
 
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Rich » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:48 am

I can't get my snipping tool to work for me on this one....

VIN: 1G4GD5ED2BF136931 Find where it now says "select option". click on it and a drop down appears, To shows.

Model designator: LACROSSE CX 4DR SED
Model designator: LACROSSE CXL 4DR SED
Model designator: LACROSSE CXS 4DR SED
Model designator: LACROSSE CXL 4DR SED

I have also found other cars with multiples listed.
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby brianp87 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:48 am

My biggest issue is that it wont show an image of an item. Like a vvt solenoid actuator on a 2005 Toyota Tundra as an example. Most parts people are not very good and I want to make sure I am getting the correct parts.
User avatar
brianp87
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor
 
Posts: 2998
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 6:11 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby BenjaminPeterson » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:21 am

2G1WT57K091249351 invalid vin.
BenjaminPeterson
25 Club: Starting Contributor
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 5:03 am

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby timbre4 » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:08 am

Was expecting a response from their rep by end-of-day yesterday, have asked about it again this morning.
Tim McDonnell -
Sr. Product Market Mgr / Forum Moderator / Mitchell 1 Media Developer
User avatar
timbre4
System Guru / Moderator
System Guru / Moderator
 
Posts: 4519
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: TN - Volunteer State

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby Rich » Fri Dec 08, 2017 10:46 am

timbre4 wrote:Was expecting a response from their rep by end-of-day yesterday, have asked about it again this morning.


Have patience Tim! :lol:
Rich Hays
Supporter of Project Semicolon
231-796-0550 work
User avatar
Rich
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor
 
Posts: 3724
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Gone hiking.

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby nickscarcare » Fri Dec 08, 2017 2:50 pm

Rich it now defaults to show all parts, there is a button just above it to click to show parts selected. I saw the same thing. Also had a Toyota today that could not get a look up for the idle control valve. Remember they say change is a good thing. LOL
Some people try to turn back their odometers. Not me, I want people to know why I look this way. I've traveled a long way, and some of the roads weren't paved.

507-345-6425
http://www.nickscarcare.com
User avatar
nickscarcare
500 Club: Champion Contributor
500 Club: Champion Contributor
 
Posts: 707
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Repairlink Not Working Properly

Postby jace241 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:56 am

nickscarcare wrote:Rich it now defaults to show all parts, there is a button just above it to click to show parts selected. I saw the same thing. Also had a Toyota today that could not get a look up for the idle control valve. Remember they say change is a good thing. LOL


Yes, It took me a couple times of clicking on parts wondering why they weren't showing up before I noticed the "show selected parts" button. That was an easy one.

Whats not easy is it keeps showing no part found when I click on the number. I call dealer to do the order. After the part shows up I type the part number in. Shows me price and availability. I click on view illustrations for this part. It takes me to the same picture I was on but does not highlight part. I click on the part and it still says no part available.
jace241
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:05 am
Next

Return to Part Catalogs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest